276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Twist of a Knife: A gripping locked-room mystery from the bestselling crime writer (Hawthorne Book 4)

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Within hours, Grunshaw has arrested Anthony and thrown him into jail to await interrogation. Still bearing a major grudge for a past humiliation at Anthony’s hands, she refuses to listen to anything he says. When a second theater critic is found to have died under suspicious circumstances and even more evidence paints him as the perpetrator, Anthony finally registers just what a tight spot he’s in. With the noose edging ever closer, there’s only one person he can call. The very person he’d just closed the door on…Daniel Hawthorne. But will he put his grudge aside and answer the call? Or will Anthony find himself behind bars for crimes he didn’t commit? Anthony is arrested by an old enemy . . . Detective Inspector Cara Grunshaw. She still carries a grudge from her failure to solve the case described in the second Hawthorne adventure, The Sentence is Death, and blames Anthony. Now she’s out for revenge. In New York Times bestselling author Anthony Horowitz's ingenious fourth literary whodunit following The Word is Murder, The Sentence is Death, and A Line to Kill, Horowitz becomes the prime suspect in a murder investigation - and only one man can prove his innocence: his newly estranged partner in solving crime, Detective Hawthorne.

I've read the whole series and this one was even more fun because the mystery actually involves Horowitz as a suspect! We also learn a bit more about the secretive and cryptic Hawthorne. Whenever he is asked something personal, his go-to is always "I'm a detective. What else do you need to know?" Anthony Horowitz is in trouble. His West End debut has been panned and the scathing reviewer stabbed to death in their own hallway. That would be bad enough, but he's the one who's been arrested; two 'old friends' on the force are holding quite the grudge against him and have no intention of listening to his pleas of innocence. Good job he knows a very good detective... Except the last conversation they had consisted of Horowitz refusing to write any more books together. Now he needs Hawthorne's help - desperately - and he might not get it. All in all, this well known author is having a really bad day... Separated by a Common Language: Anthony briefly considers Life Comes to a Full Stop as the title for a fourth Hawthorne novel, but then dismisses it, thinking that it "wouldn't make sense in America, where they have periods." The deceased is a Harriet Throsby, found stabbed with an ornamental dagger. Despite several copies given as opening night gifts to the “Mindgame” cast, the murder weapon has special features pointing directly to Horowitz. The motive: a nasty review of his play likely to kill a continued run of the production. The Twist of a Knife is consistently, delightfully entertaining, with Horowitz's own theatrical experience providing just the right amount of bittersweet bite' AirmailThe actual mystery was really quite good. I did NOT guess who the killer was, and it wasn't until Hawthorne was basically explaining to everyone that I even thought about that person as a potential suspect. It also seemed unlikely that Anthony would get arrested, spend the night in jail after being interrogated, and then try to hide it all from his wife. And the predictably inept police team, Detective Inspector Cara Grunshaw and her assistant, DC Mills, are circling. All hopes for Horowitz rise and fall with what Hawthorne can deduce from the original cast of seven, production team and wherever the trail leads... in about 72 hours. There's no doubt that I'll be catching up on what I missed in books 1-3. Horowitz has an incredibly engaging style and this shows he's quite happy not to take himself too seriously. A winning combination.

And that was maybe the worst part of the plot for me, as it seemed as though both of the galoofing cops were 100% convinced it was Anthony because he'd made them look bad in a previous book. It bothered me that they were both such poorly constructed, one-dimension characters. Mysterious Past: Hawthorne is extremely tight-lipped about his past despite Anthony's intense curiosity. In this novel, Anthony finds out that Hawthorne was adopted. It can be a bit tedious with its Agatha Christie type ending (you know where they gather all the suspects together before the big whodunit reveal). Readers of character-driven novels will love the twists and turns of this Agatha Christie-style mystery that leads to an unexpected reveal. Perfect for fans of G. M. Malliet, Elly Griffiths, and Richard Osman." - Library Journal (starred review) What’s worse than having an influential London critic skewer your latest play? Getting arrested for her murder, that’s what.On opening night, Sunday Times critic Harriet Throsby gives the play a savage review, focusing particularly on the writing. The next morning she is found dead, stabbed in the heart with an ornamental dagger which, it turns out, belongs to Anthony and which has his finger prints all over it. Anthony is arrested by an old enemy . . . Detective Inspector Cara Grunshaw. She still carries a grudge from her failure to solve the case described in the second Hawthorne adventure, The Sentence is Death , and blames Anthony. Now she’s out for revenge.

It is the fourth in his series of Daniel Hawthorne Novels, detective stories that feature Anthony Horowitz himself as The Watson. As this one starts, Anthony is categorically refusing to write a fourth book about the exploits of (fictional) private detective Daniel Hawthorne, despite Hawthorne pestering him to do so. Anthony has moved on to other things. He is writing a non-Hawthorne book, Moonflower Murders, and he has a play coming out. The play is called Mindgame and is a comedy-thriller about a reporter who goes to an insane asylum and finds that all is not as it seems. A total joy. Anthony is a master entertainer, the genius twists and turns of his writing and plot keep me on the edge of my seat.' Rory Kinnear Hawthorne, a disgraced former police officer who was thrown out of the force for assaulting a suspected paedophile in custody, does not make Anthony's task easy. He's secretive about his investigative breakthroughs and his private life, deadpan to the point of blankness, and almost childlike in both his bluntness and his jaw-dropping cheek. He insists on calling Anthony 'Tony', which Anthony hates, and seems to be able to inveigle his way into places with a mysterious charm that's almost never apparent in his relationship with Anthony himself. In short, he is consistently infuriating, and yet at the same time utterly fascinating. In this story author Horowitz is planning to finish the series with Hawthorne having completed the three books he was contracted to write. Anthony Hawthorne is planning to move on to other projects, one being his new play, a thriller called ‘Mindgame’, which is about to open at the famous Vaudeville theatre in Shoreditch.

The Twist of a Knife

Horowitz and Hawthorne’s bromance is officially over – kaput, terminated, canceled, executed at dawn. Or, is it? My little library finally got this latest in the Hawthorne/Horowitz series which I have been impatiently awaiting for months. It was worth the wait! I have read all of this particular series and loved them all. Yet, even as he starts writing “Moonflower Murders”, sequel to “Magpie Murders” with different characters, the author is unable to abandon the partnership in crime detection with this imaginary playmate. He seems to admit he has not arrived at “metanoia, a word used in psychology to describe the abandonment of false self.”

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment